Merchant License

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Offices
  4. /
  5. Collector
  6. /
  7. Merchant License

Who is a merchant?
Missouri Law, 150.010 RSMo 1994, indicates that every person, corporation, copartner ship or association of persons, who deals in selling goods, wares and merchandise at any store, stand or place occupied for that purpose, is a merchant.

Do I need an Andrew County merchant’s license for my business? Yes! if you answer yes to all the items in the checklist below:

  • You own or operate a business.
  • The business is located in Andrew County either within or outside the city limits of any incorporated area.
  • There is a sales tax number issued to the business by the Missouri Department of Revenue.
  • Product or merchandise is sold at retail.
  • You collect and remit sales tax to the Missouri Department of Revenue.
  • If your business is within a City limit you should also check with that city for their licensing requirements.

How do I obtain a merchant’s license?
Call the Andrew County Collector’s Office at (816)324-3914, they will be happy to answer your questions. Or, if you prefer, come by the office and we will help you through the process.

Once a sales tax number is obtained bring it in, along with a business or personal check or cash for $25.00, to the Collector’s Office.

Your state sales tax number must be included on the application.

If you need more information regarding state sales taxes, please contact the Missouri Department of Revenue in Jefferson City (573)751-5860.
A Merchant’s License is issued for the calendar year
January 1st thru December 31st
Will not be prorated if only open for a partial year.

License Fee
$25.00 Annually

Questions? Call (816) 324-3914

A county issued Merchant’s License is in addition to any city or other local business license you may have.